5 reason for mommas to try a spin class

Disclaimer: I’m not an exercise guru, let alone athletic or consistent with any kind of workout routine. Yet…I LOVED my spin class!

An article about spin class passed along my news feed 10 Reasons Why You Should Try a Spin Class. After a little more internet surfing, I decided to give it a whirl and I loved it! I am usually able to keep a short lived routine of weekly walks or jogs. Spin class once or twice a week was the only routine I was able to keep in years! I’m talking since high school sports which was… let’s just say some time ago!

The only reason I say this in past tense is because I am now expecting 🙂 After my pregnancy and I am back to my normal physical self – most likely after my baby starts giving me longer stints of sleep.

5 reasons for mommas to try a spin classHere is why I think spin class is perfect for moms:

1.Gets you out of the house

Stay at home moms, this is especially important for social contact with adults in the outside world. And for working moms, I’m sure it’s somewhere other than work or home to get out of the office!

2. It’s a great workout that is simple and self paced

I find a bike to be simple… you pedal. That’s it! I’ve tried Zumba, and though fun, if you don’t go all the time you never learn the dance moves. When I don’t know the steps, I fumble trying to learn them and I don’t get to the work part of the workout – and neither do the areas where I want to shed a few pounds or tone up!

At spin class, you burn even at a low resistance. And my oh my, do you BURN (I read somewhere up to 800 calories!)

When you go consistently, even just once a week, you build, you increase your resistance and endurance, and feel yourself getting stronger and more confident. You have the same fun music but I have found it a much more simple and more effective workout.

I started running on the days I did not go to spin, or couldn’t make the class, and noticed a significant difference in my strength and endurance – my lungs could handle much more strain and I found myself running up hills, which I NEVER could do before!

3. You will be encouraged to workout more

The thing about exercise is once you are hooked, you start to make other healthy choices. I would notice I needed real food and energy more, so began to turn away from the sweets and salty things I usually craved. I found myself wanted to go for a run or do a few push-ups or stretch on the days I did not go to spin class.

4. Instructors are very helpful for riding and overall health and fitness 

The first instructor I had was knowledgeable and made me feel welcome to the class. She gave a core workout at the end that was awesome, and I plan to continue after healing from baby. Be there at least 20 minutes early for your first one so you can meet and chat with the instructor, and so they can help you set up your bike.

5. The domino effects of spin helped me be a better mom during the day

I ate better, was better rested, had more energy, had a mental break – all of these things a mother needs but so rarely gets if she is not purposefully taking care of herself. All this and even around this time became motivated to start blogging- which has been even more fun for me!

Where do you find spin classes?

I joined a gym that happened to offer them – ran be about $20 a month. There are other places that just offer spin and you could even pay for class so do some research in your area.

Do you need equipment?

Not to start, but if you get hooked you might want to consider getting some riding shoes  (I was just about to make the purchase when I found out I was pregnant and won’t be needing them for a while). I rode for about 10 months without them. As I progressed, I saw that I would have a much smoother and more effective workout with the shoes. You don’t NEED them at first. They do help in the long run.

Last piece of advice…go to at least TWO classes with different instructors

I encourage that if you have a poor experience the first time to try one more with a different instructor. Personalities, philosophies of exercise, and overall experience have a huge impact. My first instructor came with 25 years plus health and exercise experience, was a fellow mom, and just an overall kind person. She really set the tone for my interest, and I was able to gage the rest in comparison to her.

I had a few instructors after her who were inexperienced or just not my style – I’m talking coming out with a pounding headache because all she played was heavy metal rock for the entire hour! An hour of that, no matter if I like the song or not puts be in such a bad mood… Don’t let these experiences discourage you, and make sure to find the instructors you do like.

 

Leave a comment